“In 2015, Spinifex celebrated their 10-year anniversary with this spectacular 12-piece band with an international all-star line-up. Eric McDowell on Free Jazz Collective about ‘Maximus’ ****1/2
“… the tunes on Maximus are bursting with a multiplicity of competing voices…listening to the exuberance of the playing, somehow always escalating, you get a sense of mutual egging-on, of a well-met challenge to go all out. Everyone here seems to bring out the best in each other, perhaps even things otherwise inaccessible…. we get everything from snaking unisons to free-form blowing—a bountiful piece from a bountiful group of musicians.””

Piotr Damasiewicz: trumpet
Bart Maris: trumpet
Tobias Klein: alto saxophone
Edoardo Marraffa: tenor saxophone
Josh Sinton: baritone saxophone
Matthias Muche: trombone
Jeb Bishop: trombone
Pascal Rousseau: tuba
Jasper Stadhouders: guitar
Gonçalo Almeida: bass guitar
Philipp Moser: drums
Onno Govaert: drums

Spinifex explores the contrast between extremely tight irregular structures and extensive free improvisation.Named after a tough Australian species of grass, Spinifex may at first sound like a combination of free jazz, math-metal and other typically Western contemporary music. However, beneath the surface the listener will discover ancient cyclical rhythms of Turkish and Indian origin.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Maximus”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2017 All Rights Reserved.